NCWU Recognizes Outstanding Employees at 2024 Awards Ceremony

ROCKY MOUNT, NORTH CAROLINA – North Carolina Wesleyan University recently held its 2024 Annual Employee Awards and Recognition Ceremony on Tuesday, April 23, 2024. The University’s Employee Awards ceremony provides recognition to coaches, faculty and staff for their years of service to the University and for exemplary service to the campus and community.

Wesleyan Service Awards

Recipients of the Wesleyan Service Award were Kimla Brandt, Carl Lewis, Margaret Love, Doreen Thierauf and Jay Quinan. These employees demonstrated outstanding service to the campus and/or community that was above and beyond their job responsibilities.

Kimla Brandt worked with Ascent Studios and their production of the locally filmed movie “RENNER.” She went above and beyond her job responsibilities to make sure the needs of their production crew and cast were taken care of during their stay at Wesleyan.

Dr. Carl Lewis donated a new bee hive to campus and went through the steps to become an affiliate university for Bee Campus USA. Through his efforts, NCWU is only 1 of 8 universities with this distinction in NC and only 1 of 170 in the nation.

Dr. Margaret Love, Dr. Doreen Thierauf and Dr. Jay Quinan are employees that donate much of their time practicing and performing with the Wesleyan Singers. The Wesleyan Singers not only perform at campus events, but they also perform in the community and have gone above and beyond their job functions.

Jefferson-Pilot Professorship Award

This year’s Jefferson-Pilot Professorship Award winner was Dr. Shannon Crowley who presented her Lecture on April 25th. Regarded as one of the highest honors and form of recognition a faculty member may receive, this award is designed for the faculty members scholarly contributions to their students, the campus, and their professional field of study. Nominations are made by Faculty Council and a grant is made available to the recipient for professional development.

Distinguished Staff Award

The Distinguished Staff Award was presented to Taylor Stone, Director of Student Success Services. This award is designed to honor those staff members who have exhibited outstanding work performance and/or service and dedication to the University or the community. Examples include, but are not limited to, outstanding program development, positive attitude in relationships with faculty, staff and students, noteworthy achievement or exemplary leadership on the campus or in the community.

Justin Clark was presented with the Inspirational Award honoring an employee who exemplifies a positive attitude and demeanor that is inspirational to students, faculty, staff, and the greater campus community. This person makes an extraordinary effort to support others whose efforts improve morale and positively impacts students, faculty, and staff as well as demonstrate the University’s core values.

Chuck Taylor Leadership Award

The Chuck Taylor Leadership Award was given to Mike Armbruster, Assistant Athletic Director, Internal Operations. This award is presented to employees who demonstrate and live the following: Principles of servant leadership; Building community by promoting a work environment that is respectful, collegial and supportive; Orienting goals and achievements in line with the University’s mission; Exhibiting strong stewardship of institutional resources (time, talent, financial); Developing a shared vision of institutional excellence; fosters an atmosphere of collaboration and creativity, which contributes to the efficiency and effectiveness of productivity. This individual is also an effective leader of people.

Longevity Awards were also given to various full-time and part-time employees for their years of service.  Recognition was awarded in 5-year, 10-year, 15-year, etc. increments of service to the University for the contractual or fiscal year.

Also, our very own Coach John Brackett received a framed jersey in honor of his 800th win at Wesleyan. Coach John Brackett’s journey has come full circle, as an alumnus of Wesleyan. With his unparalleled dedication, remarkable achievements and lasting impact on the softball program, his 800th career win stands as a testament to his unwavering commitment, exceptional leadership and the lasting legacy he has created within the University.

Congratulations to all employees who were honored and we thank each employee for your dedication and commitment to NC Wesleyan University! For more information regarding Faculty and Staff Awards or to nominate an employee, visit

View the event photo gallery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.