Jefferson-Pilot Professorship Lectures

professor giving lectureEach year, NCWU nominates a faculty member to receive The Jefferson-Pilot Award for their scholarly contributions to their students, the university, and their professional field of study. This award is regarded as one of the highest honors and forms of recognition a NC Wesleyan faculty member may receive. The faculty member delivers a lecture for the university and community in the spring of the year and a grant is available to the recipient for professional development.

About the Jefferson-Pilot Professorship Award

The Jefferson-Pilot Professorship is an endowed award that was established in 1981 through the generosity of the Jefferson-Pilot Life Insurance Company. The honoree is nominated by a committee of faculty and appointed by NC Wesleyan President. To be eligible for consideration, the faculty member must have tenure and have clearly distinguished themselves with high standards of excellence. As teachers, they demonstrate a whole-hearted dedication and rigorous professionalism in forwarding their students’ learning and personal development for life and work. As scholars, they have to possess a mastery of their discipline, contribute to new understanding and knowledge, and demonstrate a lively commitment to life-long learning for themselves, as well as their students. Additionally, as a member of the Wesleyan community, they give generously to the aims and programs of the University, both with their time and means.

Jefferson-Pilot Professorship Lectures

2022-2023 Award Winner, Dr. Patricia Brewer

2020-2021 Award Winner, Dr. William J. Grattan, III

2019-2020 Award Winner, Dr. Jeffrey J. Kuglitsch

2018-2019 Award Winner, Dr. Lee Templeton

2017-2018 Award Winner, Dr. John Temple

2016-2017 Award Winner, Dr. Heather Louch